top of page
  • Writer's pictureTwyla Gange

Plink Plank Plunk

Updated: Nov 3, 2022




In June I always share the Leroy Anderson song "Plink Plank Plunk" with my grade five students. Leroy Anderson is an American composer who was born June 29, 1908 and died May 18th, 1975.


He was a composer, arranger and conductor. He wrote many light orchestral pieces with catchy melodies and often unusual percussion effects.




Grab two pencils and follow along:

Now follow along with me in this speech

and movement activity.

(I kind of mess up at the end, I think more because I didn't remember exactly how it was supposed to go. I created this totally from memory since what I usually use is at school)

Watch the song being performed on handbells.

Here is my take on it. I kind of butchered the ending, but I was not about to redo the whole thing so it is what it is!

 

Sandpaper Ballet



 

Jazz Pizzicato

(pizzicato is the plucking of the strings instead of using a bow)

Here is a movement activity I like to do with Jazz

Pizzicato

 

The Waltzing Cat


Here is Leroy himself singing "The Waltzing Cat"

 

The Typewriter



 


Pirate Dance

 

Syncopated Clock


 

Clarinet Candy

 

Fiddle Faddle


 

Listen to the galloping sounds in "Horse and Buggy"

 

Leroy Anderson's arrangement of "Old McDonald Had a Farm"

 

This is a popular Christmas Tune - Sleigh Ride

 

"The Last Rose of Summer

(can you name the instrument featured in this song?)

 

Jazz Legato


 

Chicken Reel



 

This next video has nothing to do with Leroy Anderson, but when I google the song title "Plink Plank Plunk", which is the name of the post, an episode of the Pink Panther comes up. Enjoy "Pink, Plunk, Plink"

Want more Pink Panther? Check out my post on Henry Mancini - he wrote the Pink Panther theme

 

93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page