top of page
  • Writer's pictureTwyla Gange

Indigenous Music

Updated: Jan 24, 2021

I found many wonderful resources at: https://nac-cna.ca/en/musicalive/resources

I have used many of these resources in my classroom


Songs using Michif:

The Michif language is an Indigenous language of the Métis people of Canada. Michif is a blend of many languages such as French, Cree, and Saulteaux and was created in the 1700s when French-Canadian fur trader men married First Nations women. Their children and grandchildren spoke this blended language and Michif became an important part of the Métis culture. The Michif language almost died out as French and English became the prominent language in Canada, but, today, there are around 1000 Métis people who still know how to speak the language, and Michif is being taught to children to help preserve it. Métis Michif speakers tell stories and sing songs to the Métis children so they can listen to and speak in the language of their ancestors.


Old McDonald

Use Mitchif animal names. If you are unsure how to pronounce the words the Gabriel Dumont Institute has a online dictionary which can help you out: http://www.metismuseum.ca/michif_dictionary.php


Old MacDonald had a farm, E-I-E-I-O And on his farm he had (a)* ______, E-I-E-I-O With a _____ _____ here, and a _____ _____ there, Here a _____, there a _____. Everywhere a _____ _____. Old MacDonald had a farm, E-I-E-I-O


Cat = aen shaa Dog = aen shyaen Cow = enn vaash Duck = li kanaar Horse = zhwaal Pig = aen kwashoon Chicken = la poul

* Omit “a” when singing some of the Michif words to smooth out the phrase.


Head and Shoulders, Knees and Toes


One, Two, Buckle My Shoe

use Mitchif numbers

 

Songs in Cree


Check out the kid songs at Cree Literacy Network.

 

The Earth is Our Mother

 

A new take to "The Sound of Silence"

 

Tanisi Hello Song with Marlene Quinney





28 views0 comments
bottom of page