top of page
  • Writer's pictureTwyla Gange

Fiddlin' Around

Updated: Jun 26, 2020





Our grade fives had the opportunity to learn how to play the violin this year. Let's see what they can remember!





Label the Violin

You can either email me your answers at tgange@srsd119.ca

or use the key code: gtmi8cz5ob.

Give me your grade and put "music" as your subject

 

Learn to Draw a Violin

 

The Violin Strings:


If you forget how to read music head over to the blog I did entitled:

 

Match these violin terms

Complete this worksheet and either email me your answers at tgange@srsd119.ca

or use the key code: gtmi8cz5ob.

Give me your grade and put "music" as your subject

 

Listen to Lindsey Stirling

play her violin

 

Watch the young, talented Tyler Butler-Figueroa who recently competed on "America's Got Talent"

 

We started fiddling at our school in hopes that in the future we could have students accompany our fantastic jigging club.

Hopefully soon we will have students playing

"The Red River Jig" and other fiddlin' tunes just like these guys:

 

I AM NOT a violin player. I did learn to play it at university which was decades ago, but have to admit I absolutely hated it. I blame the teacher, it was a small class of 7 people, 4 of those caught on quickly and so the teacher just zoomed along - I did not catch on quickly, I was LOST! I took one home during this whole pandemic in hopes that I could figure it out. Here is my attempt at a little "Mozart Serenade".

Notice my shirt - music and cats!

 

Never do this to a violin:

 

Here are some bow exercises you can do without a bow. It will get you all ready for when we are back in school and can have the real bow in your hand!


Bow warm-up Exercises


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page